“Like a Broken Vessel”

Welcome back!

Missed us? Yeah, I thought so. Not that we’ve done anything exciting. We have just been working on more wedding plans and more wedding plans. It’s crazy that it’s a little over two weeks away!

Anyway, I met with some of my aunts and grandma to come up with some awesome food for the reception. I don’t think you will ever see food like this at a reception! I’m so excited for it, even though I know I probably won’t eat any of it.

We also went to a Halloween party and we went as Carrie and the Grim Reaper. We had a great time and enjoyed the party. One game we played there is called “Things,” it’s probably the funniest game I’ve ever played. I highly recommend it. Here is a picture of us from the party:

photo

I don’t think there was much else we have done. Or if we have, I’ve forgotten and that wouldn’t be surprising. My brain has been fried for the last two weeks and I have learned that I need to write everything down or I will forget it. I’ve also been telling people all these wrong dates – I was at the doctor and they asked for my birthday and I told them January 26, 1999. I was born in 1993. They were all very surprised at how young I was. Another story, a kid in one of my classes asked me when I graduated and I said 2001. I graduated in 2011. I’m a mess and cannot wait to get my brain back after the wedding.

On Sunday, I actually made it to Relief Society (I’m usually in the Primary) and the lesson was amazing. I just wanted to share some thoughts on it because it’s been on my mind since then. The lesson was based on Elder Holland’s talk, “Like a Broken Vessel” from this last General Conference. The talk is basically talking about mental and emotional issues and that they need to be dealt with like any other big health issue like cancer.

One thing that I have learned over the past few years is that it’s okay to admit that you need help and seek advice from professionals. This was my favorite quote from Elder Holland’s talk. I think that it sums up his talk, saying that things may be difficult but you should seek help and he compares emotional disorders to an actual physical problem.

“If things continue to be debilitating, seek the advice of reputable people with certified training, professional skills, and good values. Be honest with them about your history and your struggles. Prayerfully and responsibly consider the counsel they give and the solutions they prescribe. If you had appendicitis, God would expect you to seek a priesthood blessing and get the best medical care available. So too with emotional disorders. Our Father in Heaven expects us to use all of the marvelous gifts He has provided in this glorious dispensation.”

Another thing that was talked about in the lesson was that we all chose our problems. A story was read from a book about a lady that was of a different faith that didn’t believe in a before-life and she had briefly ‘died’. She had gone to heaven and an angel asked if she wanted to see herself before she was born and she of course said yes. The angel then showed her picking out the problems she would face in life and another angel telling her that she was picking a life that would be too difficult. The lady said that she realized it would be difficult, but she wanted to learn from those experiences.

I completely agree with that story. I see no reason why we wouldn’t be able to choose how our lives would be. We wanted to grow from our challenges so we picked the ones we did.

I am so blessed to have had a relatively easy life and I know that it probably won’t last and I’m okay with that. I know that I will always be able to rely on Jeff and my family to help me. I know that when you trust in the Lord and do everything in your power, He will do the rest. I am so thankful that Jeff came into my life and I cannot begin to express how grateful I am that I have the opportunity to spend eternity with him.

Leave a Reply

